Retaining Your License After a DUI in Florida

An arrest for DUI (Driving under the Influence) in Florida is not an uncommon occurrence. A 2009 study by the Century Council found that roughly 53,000 men, women and minors under 21 were arrested for DUI in Florida. In 2009, there were 770 drunk driving accidents that resulted in fatalities. This figure does not include the hundreds of accidents resulting in serious bodily injury and property damage.

Given Florida’s high rate of drunk driving and the serious damage it can produce, it is not surprising that Florida’s Legislature has put in place consequences to ensure that the offense is not taken lightly. The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) is responsible for handling the administrative aspect of a DUI arrest, namely the license suspension. After a DUI suspect fails the breathalyzer test or refuses to take the test, the arresting officer will immediately confiscate their license. This is done even before the guilt or innocence of the driver is determined in criminal court.

Many people arrested for a DUI offense are deeply concerned with the fate of their driver’s license. Since people rely heavily on automobiles to commute to work, school and to perform necessary tasks for dependent family members, the loss of a driver’s license for any period of time is unthinkable for many. Fortunately, there are official processes that may be used to avoid an administrative license suspension or obtain a special limited license in the event of a criminal conviction.

After an arrest for DUI, a person has 10 days to challenge their administrative driver’s license suspension with the Florida DHSMV in writing. Law enforcement officers are required to explain this fact to those arrested for DUI, but it can be easily forgotten with the shock and confusion of the arrest. Note that this option is not available for a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL), though CDL holders may still challenge the administrative suspension of a non-commercial driver’s license.

The Florida DHSMV will schedule a formal hearing within 30 days after receiving the request to challenge the license suspension. This hearing is administrative in nature and is distinct from the criminal hearing. This hearing determines if an individual can keep their driving privileges, and if these privileges should have limitations. This is done by determining if the arresting officer had probable cause to stop the driver, examining whether the officer properly advised the alleged offender of the suspension for refusal or failure to pass an intoxication test, and reviewing the results of the blood or breath tests.

Many people facing this complex situation choose to hire an experienced DUI attorney. A competent criminal defense attorney can help a person through both the criminal and administrative aspects of the case. In fact, it is often advisable for the attorney to represent their client in the administrative hearing as well. During the administrative license suspension hearing, the prosecutor is not present, which can be beneficial to a person’s defense. Certain information may also be revealed in the administrative hearing that can prove useful during the criminal trial, especially details from uncoached witnesses or the arresting officer.

If the outcome of the case is that the person’s license is revoked or if the person did not request a formal license review hearing, the following Florida license suspension laws apply:

Driving a non-commercial vehicle with alcohol level of.08 or above

1st suspension – 6 months
1st suspension (refusal to submit to blood, urine, or breath test) – 1 year
2nd or subsequent suspension – 1 year
2nd or subsequent suspension (refusal to submit to blood, urine, or breath test) – 18 months

Driving a commercial vehicle with blood alcohol level of.04 or above or under the influence of drugs

1st disqualification – 1 year disqualification
1st disqualification (refusal to submit to blood, breath, or urine test) – 1 year disqualification
2nd disqualification – permanent disqualification
2nd or subsequent disqualification (refusing to submit to blood, breath, or urine test) – permanent disqualification

Driver under the age of 21 with a BAC of.02 or above

1st suspension – 6 months
2nd or subsequent suspension – 1 year
1st suspension (breath test refusal) – 1 year
2nd or subsequent suspension (refusal to submit) – 18 months

The administrative suspension is effective immediately. However, if the driver is eligible, the arresting officer will issue a temporary permit. This permit is valid for 10 days from the date of arrest, the same length of time that the driver has to challenge the license suspension.

There is also the option to apply for a special hardship license with the Florida DHSMV before the end of the license revocation period. This license is extremely limited in nature, allowing only for commute to work, school and other pre-determined locations. Should a law enforcement officer discover the driver outside of these locations, the temporary license privileges will be immediately revoked. Eligibility is not easy as proof must be submitted that the lack of driving privileges impose a severe hardship on current employment or education enrollment. Additional restrictions may apply.

In order to reinstate a driver’s license after the end of the license suspension period, an individual must also pay a license reinstatement fee.

The processes described above to mitigate a suspended license are not easy, automatic, nor do they come with a guaranteed outcome, but they can help a person retain their driving privileges after a DUI in Florida. With the potentially severe consequences of a revocation, it is often in the best interests of the DUI driver to pursue every available option, preferably with the aid of a criminal defense attorney.

Facing Your First DUI Charge in Florida

Many individuals facing a DUI charge are facing their first criminal offense, and the process ahead can be overwhelming. With over 60,000 DUI arrests in 2013, Florida ranks in the top 5 states to prosecute drunk drivers. Any DUI conviction carries serious consequences, as Florida law allows for strict penalties to deter both residents and visitors from driving while drunk. Even a first charge of DUI can lead to jail time, fines, and negative consequences outside the courtroom.

If a driver is detained by law enforcement on a suspicion of driving under the influence, the officers may request a breath, blood, or urine sample to determine their blood alcohol content (BAC). The driver legally is not required to give this sample, but they will face consequences if they refuse, including a suspension of their driving privileges. However, if the individual’s BAC is shown to be.08 or above, the driver can then be arrested for DUI.

Fla. Stat. 316.193 outlines the potential penalties for those convicted of driving drunk in Florida. These consequences grow in severity based on the offender’s prior conviction record. For a first DUI offense, the driver faces any of the following consequences:

• Up to 6 months in jail
• A fine between $500 and $1000
• Suspension of driving privileges from 6 months to 1 year
• Requirement to install an ignition interlock device(IID)
• Community Service
• Probation
• Requirement to participate in an alcohol treatment program

However, if the offender’s BAC was above.15 at the time of the arrest or if a minor was in the vehicle, they face even more severe penalties. The consequences include up to 9 months in prison and an increased fine between $1000 and $2000. There will also be a mandatory period of 180 days in which the offender must have an interlock ignition device installed on the vehicle. This system requires a clean breath sample in order to operate the vehicle, and the offender will be responsible for the installation, maintenance and removal fees, which can total into the hundreds of dollars.

Outside of the courtroom, a conviction for DUI can have other lasting consequences. The offender will likely face a greatly increased auto insurance rate, or they may be dropped altogether from their current policy. Those in certain professions, such as a teacher, pilot, law enforcement officer, or doctor, can face disciplinary actions in their career or may even in be in jeopardy of losing their jobs.

While a defense attorney may be able to negotiate lesser sentencing in some areas, DUI charges include several mandatory consequences in Florida, including a suspension of driving privileges. The abundance of negative consequences make is easy to see that driving drunk is never worth it.

Aggressive Driving In Florida

Statistics show that most accidents are caused by the driver being distracted. A distraction can come in many forms when behind the wheel of your car, one of them is anger. Being human people get angry and being angry in your car is just one more distraction you do not need. It could cause you to make some rash decisions. Avoiding a driver behaving aggressively is also a major distraction that could cause actions putting you and the drivers around you in a serious situation.

Aggressive driving is defined as: “A form of automobile operation in which an operator will deliberately behave in such a manner as to increase the risk of an automobile accident” (Wikipedia). Aggressive driving includes behaviors such as speeding, running red lights, frequent or sudden lane changes, following too close, flipping off the other driver, and just general stupidity.

A driver acting aggressively becomes not only a danger to themselves and the driver who is the target of their anger but everyone around them. Aggressive behavior and distractions lead to mistakes and accidents. Incidents of aggressive driving can also quickly escalate in to “Road Rage” which usually leads to physical violence. According to statics aggressive driving is a key factor in 56% of crashes with fatalities. Insurance payouts to claimants of accidents caused by others bad behavior, especially uninsured drivers is passed on through insurance policy rates.

More than costly, Aggressive Driving is dangerous and could lead to much more serious charges, such as manslaughter or murder. Eleven states have passed laws that address aggressive driving behavior. Interestingly enough, Florida is prohibited from enforcing their aggressive driving law by state statute.

In Florida to be considered driving in an aggressive manor you must be ticketed for at least two of the following: speeding, unsafe or improper lane changes, following too closely, failure to yield right of way, improper passing, failure to obey traffic control devices. I tried to find exactly what Florida state statute prevents Florida from enforcing their aggressive driving law but without luck. I did learn that there is a check box on the traffic citation indicating it was Aggressive Driving. If an officer should write a ticket for one of the qualifying traffic offences he can check the box but it would be for data collection only.

As always the best defense is not to get in a situation in the first place, there are steps you can take to

Avoid being the target of an aggressive driver and they can be summed up as: Don’t offend, Don’t engage, and Adjust.

Don’t offend, avoid cutting someone off, don’t tailgate, don’t make a gesture, stay off the horn and if you do…. apologize!

Don’t engage, steer clear if you see a situation starting to develop. If you are being followed pull in to a safe or crowded spot and ask for help or dial 911. Don’t react back, avoid eye contact, avoid anything that would cause the aggressor to take a next step. If you see a driver who is acting dangerously report it, you may save a life.

Adjust, again simple things like leaving enough time to get where you are going. You won’t have to speed, you won’t have to tailgate to push people out of your way. Defuse, if someone should cross your path, take that deep breath or count to ten.

Aggressive driving bad behavior behind the wheel affects us all by putting us in danger. And we pay for it through increased auto insurance rates. Driving is hard enough but it is really nothing to get angry about.

Dealing With Traffic Stops and Law Enforcement Officers While Carrying A Concealed Firearm

When being stopped by law enforcement for a traffic stop and you are carrying a firearm, it’s always wise to stand in the officers shoes and view the situation from the officers perspective. The following steps on how to deal with law enforcement during a traffic stop isn’t in the Florida 790 statutes, in fact the statute is pretty fuzzy on how an individual is expected to interact with law enforcement. Here’s where we’re going to apply a little common sense to make our lives easier.

When we see the flashing lights and hear the siren of a police car signaling us to pull over…

1. We should pull over as much as possible to the right of the roadway, giving the officer the courtesy of maintaining his/her personal safety. The officer getting out of his vehicle stands the possibility of being injured by passing vehicles, allow the officer as much space as possible, he will appreciate the fact you considered his personal safety.

2. Roll down all your windows, especially if they are tinted. If being stopped at night, turn on your interior light. This will allow the officer to clearly see in your vehicle. By doing this, you’re in essence demonstrating to the officer that you’re being polite, are ready to deal with him and have nothing to hide in your vehicle.

3. Turn off your vehicle and leave the keys on the dashboard. This will demonstrate to the officer you are not planning to flee the traffic stop.

4. Place your hands on the steering wheel at the 10 O’clock and 2 O’clock positions. This is a natural relaxed position that will demonstrate to the officer you’re not going to try to reach for something that may injure or kill him.

5. When the officer walks up to your window, “if you have a concealed weapons permit”, maintain both hands on the steering wheel and immediately inform the officer that you indeed have a concealed weapons permit and where your firearm is located on your person.

6. When the officer asks to see your, drivers license, insurance, registration and concealed weapons permit, have all the documents in one location, within easy reach and ready to hand the officer.

7. The officer may ask to inspect your firearm, he has every right to do so. Do not attempt to handle or reach for your firearm. Maintain both hands on the steering wheel and ask the officer how he/she would like to proceed and follow all orders.

Implementing the aforementioned 7 steps when being pulled over while carrying a firearm will calm the officers fear of the individual he just pulled over being a possible threat to his life.

This is something rarely discussed as part of a concealed weapons permit class but it’s an important topic never the less. I hope this article enlightens everyone on how to better deal with traffic stops while carrying a concealed firearm.

New Florida Law to Prevent Doctor Shopping and Curtail Drug Abuse

A new Florida law requiring doctors to register patients in a statewide database is showing signs of working. The law, which took effect in September of 2011, requires doctors to register their patients’ names who are prescribed controlled substances. The database is then made available to pharmacies statewide so those who attempt to abuse the prescription drugs can be identified.

Those who attempt to refill their prescriptions too frequently or who are found to be visiting multiple doctors and pharmacies, including “doctor shoppers,” will be denied refills by their pharmacists and can possibly be investigated by law enforcement. Law enforcement will have access to these records and can inquire further information at any time.

Some claim the policy Florida has adopted infringes on privacy violation, but the law is consistent with laws enforced by 36 other states. These states also face turmoil with what has become an epidemic and feel there is no choice but to adopt such a strict stance on prescription drugs.

Pharmacists in the state of Florida already feel that the new law is working. They claim that they rarely receive any phone calls inquiring about whether or not they have oxycontin and other painkillers in stock. These same pharmacies say they used to receive several phone calls per day asking about the drugs.

The database already has 15 million names on its list and will continue to be cross-checked by doctors, pharmacists, and law enforcement. Doctors are required to list their patient’s name within seven days of prescribing them a controlled substance.

Other drugs that are on the list include Oxycodone, Xanax, hydrocodone, Percocet, and other narcotics. Amphetamines such as adderall and Ritalin, drugs prescribed to children and a small number of adults with attention deficit disorder (ADD) and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), are also closely monitored. Amphetamines, like narcotics, are another category of prescription drugs that can be highly addictive and are widely abused.

If you suspect that you or a loved one is suffering from prescription drug addiction, including painkillers and amphetamines, contact a local drug rehabilitation center or clinic for help. With proper counseling, you or your loved one can achieve and maintain long-term sobriety. Don’t let law enforcement be or a jail sentence be the reason you have to get clean. Make it a personal choice and do it on your own. Recovery is possible. When there’s help available, there’s also hope.

First DUI and Florida Law

A DUI arrest may come as a shock to a person charged with his or her first DUI. However, DUI arrests are more common than one might think. The Florida DMV states that in 2011, there were 55,722 DUI tickets issued, of which 33,625 (or just above 60%) resulted in convictions. One of the reasons for this could be Florida’s comprehensive DUI law.

According to Florida Statute 316.193, a person can be charged with DUI in Florida under if they exhibit one of two qualities, or both, while being in physical control of or driving a motor vehicle. These qualities are:

• Blood or breath alcohol level (BAC) is over the legal limit of.08%, defined as:
– .08 or more grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood
– .08 or more grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath

• Normal faculties are impaired by drugs or alcohol
– Faculties include hearing, walking, talking, and depth perception

Physical control of a motor vehicle is a separate concept from driving it. A person can be in physical control if he or she is in the vehicle with it running, in the vehicle with it off but the keys close by, or close enough to the vehicle to operate it. With the statute’s consideration for impairment and physical control, an individual could potentially be arrested for DUI outside his or her car without chemical proof of intoxication. Even with a chemical test, the legal limit of.08% can be achieved or exceeded by an average person after just one or two drinks – a point at which many people still believe they are okay to drive.

Despite the fact that the scope of the law makes it relatively easy for anyone to be arrested and charged with a first DUI, it does not go easy on an alleged DUI offender punitively. Implied consent laws put the alleged offender in a tough spot when it comes to administrative license suspension (ALS). If you refuse a BAC test, you face one year of ALS; if you test for a BAC of.08% or higher, you face six months of ALS. Additionally, you only have 10 days from the moment of your arrest to request a hearing disputing these suspensions.

If convicted, you could face other penalties for first DUI in Florida in addition to the administrative license suspension. These are also defined in Florida Statute 316.193 and include:

• $500 – $1,000 fine
• Up to 180 days of criminal driver’s license suspension
• Up to 10 days of vehicle impoundment
• Installment of ignition interlock device
• Up to 6 months of probation and/or jail time

Penalties become more severe if the DUI offense included a minor, a BAC of.15% or higher, or an accident involving property damage, injury, or death. Some first DUI cases in Florida may be eligible and/or required to participate in an approved Florida DUI program designed to provide DUI and alcohol education, psychological evaluation, and treatment referral services. How your participation impacts your case is determined by the court on a case-by-case basis.

While the inclusiveness of Florida DUI law can help get drunk drivers off the road, it also gives law enforcement a lot of discretion when it comes to DUI arrests. If you have been charged with your first DUI and are concerned about your future, it is important to remember you are innocent until proven guilty and have certain rights available to you. A skilled Florida DUI defense attorney can protect those rights while fighting for a more favorable outcome.

What Is Tort Law Exactly?

Have you ever done something that was against the rules? Well, torts are something like that; but much more serious. Torts are civil wrong-doings; immoral behaviors and actions against civilians. The law identifies a tort as immoral, and approves it as grounds for a lawsuit. Most often, torts come with severe consequences, like serious injuries and death. These consequences establish a civilian’s right to file a personal injury claim against a wrongful party.

Torts that result in serious injury or death can be punishable by imprisonment; however, the objective of tort law is to acquire compensation for damages incurred by victims and families of victims. In addition, and equally important, intent is to prevent similar wrongdoings from occurring in the future. In fact, victims of tort can take legal action for an injunction in order to inhibit further torturous conduct of the opposing party.

Explaining Torts and Tort Law

Victims of tort can pursue fair compensation for damages incurred as a result of the offence. Exemplary damages include everything from pain and suffering to loss of companionship, and much more; such as lost wages, hospital bills, medical expenses, scarring or disfigurement, funeral expenses, prolonged rehabilitation, permanent disabilities, and much more. Injured victims can also pursue compensation for damages like diminished quality of life and loss of benefits from loved one’s death. Tort law is established to protect injured victims that were wrongfully hurt by a negligent party. Negligent parties can include people, companies, individuals, organizations, products, and much more.

Categories of Tort

There are several individual capacities of tort law that all depend on the type of injury or accident that harms a person. Types of tort include motor vehicle accidents, product liability, assault and battery, sexual harassment, drunk driving accidents, wrongful death, slip and falls, head or brain injuries, dog bites, nursing home neglect, motorcycle accidents, and several other types of deliberate inflictions of emotional or physical trauma.

Every type of tort can be grouped into three separate categories of tort law; these categories are Intentional Torts, Negligent Torts, and Strict Liability Torts. Intentional torts are deliberate, premeditated, and purposeful. Assault and battery, sexual misconducts, and nursing home neglect are some examples of intentional tort. Negligent tort occurs as a result of carelessness and disregard. Disobeying traffic signals and causing an accident that harms another person is an example of negligent tort. Other examples include pedestrian accidents, hit-and-run accidents, medical malpractice, legal malpractice, and slip and fall accidents. Strict liability torts, on the other hand, occur when a particular action causes harm or damage to another person; such as liability for making and selling defective products that are hazardous.

If you are a victim of tort, or was recently injured in an accident caused by the negligence or misconduct of another party, you may be entitled to compensation for your damages. Contact a licensed personal injury law firm for professional guidance and counsel. It is important to take immediate action following a serious injury before the State’s statutes of limitation runs out. An experienced tort lawyer will substantially increase your chances and likelihood of winning your personal injury claim recovering compensation for your damages.

Common Benefits Received From Workers’ Compensation

It is common for people who are injured on the job to collect workers’ compensation benefits. The amount of compensation and degree of benefits received by injured workers largely depends on the extent of their injuries or damages. Damages can include but are not limited to pain, suffering, prolonged rehabilitation or illness, diminished quality of life, lost wages, medical expenses, hospital bills, mental trauma, PTSD, and much more.

It is wise to hire a personal injury attorney that specializes in workers’ compensation law to recover the full and fair recompense deserved. Continue reading to learn what type of benefits to expect, or that is possible, to receive after being injured while on the clock.

Workers’ Compensation Benefits

Not all workers’ compensation claims are for physical injuries. Although most involve some sort of bodily harm, mental anguish or trauma can be just as damaging. Sometimes, personal injury cases can involve sexual harassment, discrimination, assault or battery, contracting a work-related illness or disease, experiencing an armed robbery, and more. Either way, the common coverages and benefits received from workers’ compensation claims are as follows:

Paid Hospital Bills, Medical Expenses, Physical Therapy, Medical and Vocational Rehabilitation, Doctor Visits, Counseling, Prescriptions, Etc.

Paid Weekly Earnings for Time Off Work Longer than One Week (2/3 of Average Weekly Pay-400 Week Maximum)

Benefits for Dependents in the Case of a Wrongful Death at Work

Punitive Damages in Cases of Malicious Intent or Blatant Disregard

Compensation for Excessive Pain, Suffering, Loss of Companionship, Mental Anguish, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Diminished Quality of Life, Etc.

Travel Expenses (If Applicable)

There are several other types of benefits available to those injured on the job, however, they vary depending on the company’s policies, insurance coverage, the extent of injury, and much more. It is strongly encouraged to discuss your recent work injury with a licensed Indianapolis workers’ compensation lawyer for accurate case assessment and legal guidance. They retain the proper resources, experience, and knowledge to navigate your workers’ compensation claim.

In order to recover the full and fair remuneration deserved to an injured victim and their family, a personal injury lawyer is the path to take. Be sure your personal injury law firm employs attorneys with extensive trial and litigation experience in workers’ compensation cases. This will further ensure you are choosing a lawyer that can successfully navigate your claim and have a better chance of recovering for your damages and losses.

Who’s Liable for Injuries Sustained in Public Transportation Accidents?

Public transportation is a wonderful asset for thousands of Americans all across the country. Buses, trains, subways, limousines, metros, taxi cabs, and more are just a few examples of the variety we have to choose from when it comes to public transport. As customers and clients, we generally trust that these choices are safe and reliable; but sometimes unexpected accidents happen.

If someone is injured while using public transportation, who is at-fault for their damages? There can be several outcomes when determining who is liable for accidents such as these. Continue reading to understand all the possible parties that might be liable, under law, for injuries sustained to public transient customers.

Public Transportation Traffic Accidents

When it comes to public transportation, buses are one of the most popular. Tickets are inexpensive, and some buses are complementary to individuals in the community. School buses are also widely used for public school transportation. With the rising popularity of public buses, more and more are on the roads every day. As a result, the number of bus accidents continue to increase each year. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), more than 300 bus accidents happen every year, all of which resulting in fatalities.

Bus crashes, and other public transport cases, are complicated to litigate. Determining the at-fault party is a bus crash can be tricky because it may be more than one, or none at all. It requires the professional litigation skills and trial experience of a licensed car accident attorney to effectively pursue a bus accident injury lawsuit or claim. If you or someone you loved has recently been injured in a public transportation accident, like buses or taxis, contact a local personal injury lawyer to learn your rights.

Possible At-Fault Parties:

  • The Driver
  • Management Company
  • Other Negligent Vehicles
  • Government Entities (If Public)
  • Equipment Manufacturers
  • City Traffic Management (If Defective Light or Sign)

Common Causes:

  • Drunk Driving
  • Driving Under the Influence of Drugs
  • Defective Stop Light or Traffic Sign
  • Hazardous Weather Conditions
  • Reckless or Careless Driving
  • Poor Equipment Maintenance
  • Treacherous Roads
  • Defective Equipment
  • Obstruction of Views
  • Other Negligent Vehicles on the Road

Traffic accidents, public or not, can happen very suddenly, and usually result in serious injuries and damages to innocent bystanders and drivers. If a person is injured using public transportation as a result of another carelessness or negligence, they are entitled to legal compensation for their pain, suffering, lost wages, medical bills, and more. 

A Myth Regarding Personal Injury Protection

I often get told by my clients that they “do not want to make any claims on their own insurance policy” because “it will raise their rates.” Like many things, this is an insurance tactic meant to scare people from claiming what is rightfully theirs. Let me elaborate further.

Under Texas law, every person in the State must carry Personal Injury Protection (“PIP”) coverage on their auto insurance policy, unless you expressly sign a rejection or “opt-out” of this coverage. The State minimum requirement is $2,500, although many people carry $5,000 or $10,000 in coverage (or sometimes even more, depending on what their auto insurance carrier offers). Importantly, under the Texas Insurance Code, it is illegal for your insurance company to raise your insurance rates, drop your coverage, affect your credit, etc. for making these claims. Therefore, if you have this coverage, you always want to use it.

PIP coverage is meant to reimburse you for two things: (1) medical bills you have already incurred or (2) lost wages (although it will only cover 80% of your lost wages). Additionally, Texas allows “stacking” of insurance benefits. For example, let’s say you get into an accident and you are taken to the emergency room where you incur a $10,000.00 bill. Let’s also say that you have the standard $2,500 PIP policy through your insurance company. After you are finished treating, we send that same $10,000 bill to both the Defendant’s insurance company and to your own. We get you paid $10,000 from this insurance company plus $2,500 from your own PIP coverage for a total reimbursement of $12,500. That’s right, you get paid $12,500 for a bill that was originally $10,000.

I always tell my clients the same thing: If you pay for this coverage every month in your premium, and if your insurance company cannot raise your rates for using it, then why wouldn’t you use it? It is free money falling out of the sky. However, because it’s free money falling out of the sky, many insurance companies (and their agents) will deliberately try to convince you that you do not need it because “it cost more.” Again, this cannot be further from the truth. The cost of this coverage is literally pennies on the dollar for what you get in return should you need to use it. Further, the best part is that this coverage is no-fault, meaning you are entitled to these benefits whether you caused the accident or if someone else hit you.

For these reasons, it is a no-brainer not only to have this coverage, but also to use it once you need it.